Niagara is Falling

Two months ago I said goodbye to my niece for the summer and visited with my brother, my sister-in-law, and my nephew who were in town to help my niece move and accompany her back to B.C. My brother decided his Vancouver-raised kids should see Niagara Falls, something we took for granted growing up in Toronto. I drove out to meet them at their hotel right next to the falls, the plan being to check out the butterfly sanctuary and maybe have lunch at a nice winery before saying farewell to them at the airport.

Well, nice plans finish last, as they (don’t) say…

The family hadn’t eaten breakfast yet when I arrived, and instead we drove around trying to find anything besides a Tim Horton’s—my niece spent last summer working in one and now (rightly) refuses to eat there. When we suggested visiting butterflies, she refused that idea, too. Rain fell, limiting our other options, so we changed our plans and decided to explore one of the many wax museums within the block from the hotel. Yes, there are several.

Here are some lovely horrible pictures of Niagara Falls main tourist strip. Next Week: Louis Tussaud’s!

(hint: it’s awfully fantastic!)

This street caused me to laugh out loud.

This street caused me to laugh out loud.

The biggest waterfall in the world could evoke chills for some, I guess.

The biggest waterfall in the world could evoke chills for some, I guess.

This is a Burger King?

This is a Burger King?

Yes, that's a giant Ferris wheel.

Yes, that’s a giant Ferris wheel.

I can't believe Ripley's Believe It or Not is still open! (Or that there's a giant dinosaur down the street from it!)

I can’t believe Ripley’s Believe It or Not is still open! (Or that there’s a giant dinosaur down the street from it!)

And finally Louis Tussaud's. Stay tuned for contents of...

And finally Louis Tussaud’s. Stay tuned for contents of…

Leave a Reply

